Nap Time: Update

5 Jun

Last time I did a post on napping, we were…not napping.  

I’m happy to say that things have improved somewhat.  We’ve established some semblance of a schedule.  Ideally, she’ll nap at 9ish, 12:30ish and 3:30ish.  

This is where we run into a problem.  

Chloe naps best when she’s been up for about 2.5-3 hours.  Our schedule all depends on when she wakes up in the morning.  Sometimes it’s 5:15, sometimes it’s 7 (Usually it’s between 6 and 6:30).  The question is do I try to put her down at the same time everyday?  Or do I go by how long she has been up?  

Ideas, anyone? 

It seems like if I miss those times (9, 12:30 and 3:30), she sleeps for 10-15 minutes.  If I hit them almost exactly, she’ll take a real nap. 

Also, what do I do when she falls asleep in the stroller or in the car?  Does that mean we just skip formal “naptime”?  

This whole baby thing is so confusing.  At least we’re moving in the right direction.

One Response to “Nap Time: Update”

  1. Brianne Johnson Wright June 11, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    On the weekends I try to put Lily down around the same time for nap, give or take about a half hour or so and regardless of what time she gets up. Unless she sleeps for a long time in the car or stroller, I still attempt to put her down for her normal naptimes. She will sometimes sleep for a good amount of time in the car and stroller and those times I count as her naptime so I am not too worried about putting her down later. As she has gotten older though, I try to run errands right after naps so she will be less likely to sleep in the car and stroller. This way her napping “schedule” doesn’t get too out of sync. Although, I have been known to go ahead and run an errand or two if she is fighting sleep really bad since the car usually knocks her out. That way I can guarantee that she will get some sleep. You are right it is confusing! I keep reading about how important it is to establish a schedule but I am going to be honest, some days (for me at least) it is all about just making it through the day, clocks be damned! I think (hope) it will only get easier as they get older.

Leave a Reply

