Babies and Vacation

1 Jun

Hunter and I have been weighing the pros and cons of taking Chloe on vacation this summer.  I know that she won’t remember it, so I’m inclined to say no.  We don’t have any extra money right now, but we could probably pull off a short trip to Asheville.  It would be nice to get away for a couple of days but will I be able to enjoy it?

At this point, it’s hard enough to get out of the house.  Let alone out of the city.  Chloe has only ever slept here, won’t take a bottle and likes to eat in her room only (although I’m working on it).  The packing it would take to go anywhere like that seems overwhelming.  What if she hates it?  What if she doesn’t sleep?  How would we have naps?  

I realize I’m a little overbearing and controlling but I just don’t get how other Moms do it when babies are so small.  To me, it seems like I would be to tired/stressed to actually enjoy anything, but I’m usually wrong about these things.  

Is it even worth it?  Should we save our money and plan something bigger for when she is older?  

When did you first take your kids on vacation?  How did it go?

4 Responses to “Babies and Vacation”

  1. Brianne Johnson Wright June 4, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Have you thought about just taking a day trip first to see how it goes? Asheville is close enough you could get away for the day. You could see how being away for just the day goes but still be in your own home environment for the night. It could be a test run of sorts. Just a thought! If anything you all should go for a few hours to eat some fantastic vegetarian food! Besides, you will never know how she will react until you try it. It seems stressful to pack and try and plan even a day trip but you really just have to try and be flexible and roll with the punches as they say. With Lily, I figured as long as I have diapers, wipes, extra clothes, a blanket, and some sort of toy than we are good to go!

    • Leslie June 6, 2012 at 10:09 am #

      You are so right. I seem to have a hard time with just rolling with things. A bit to A type personality perhaps? Oh well. I’m going to work on it. And yes, Asheville for the day is probably a great idea. Hunter has his heart set on camping. Camping with a baby?? I’ll pass.

  2. Chara Larkin June 4, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    I first took Peyton on vacation when he was a week old. I went to South Carolina to visit my brother and my sister-in-law. The difference was that I had my mom and my dad to help me some. Really, though, I did pretty much everything when it came to taking care of Peyton. It just helped that I didn’t have to prepare any meals while I was there. Matt wasn’t with me, and everything went just fine. I know that I’ll probably be taking Peyton with me while Matt has to travel for business next week. The difference is that I’ll be staying in the hotel room almost (if not all of) the time we’re there, so feeding him and such won’t be an issue. I know I’ll have to probably bring at least 2-3 outfits for each day we’re gone (along with the other necessities), but it will be doable. What kind of vacation were you guys thinking about? I know when you’re nursing it would be hard to be gone almost the entire day.

    • Leslie June 6, 2012 at 10:13 am #

      I remember seeing that you took Peyton on vacation when he was that young. I would’ve had a nervous breakdown with the lack of sleep (not to mention the germs! Ah germs!). But that’s awesome that you could do it. Chloe won’t take a bottle and is waaaaay too distracted to eat in public, so we’ll see. I may wait until she’s around 8 months or so when she can have a sippy cup and what not. Hunter actually wants to go camping, which seems absolutely ludicrous to me. Our tent isn’t big enough for the pack and play so I have no idea where she would sleep. We’re probably going to try a day trip sometimes soon and go from there. Good luck with your trip!

Leave a Reply

