Baby Products Galore!

31 May

I just read a “Baby Must Haves” post over on one of my favorite blogs.  I have read at least 15 of these from different bloggers since I got pregnant and I find it really interesting how each list is different.  It just goes to show that every baby and every family have different needs.  Since I know a lot of people who either just had a baby or are expecting soon, I thought I’d do my own.  There are so many contraptions out there to spend money on.  Chloe is not quite five months old yet, but I don’t imagine things are going to change too terribly much in the next week.  So here’s a rundown of things that were essential to us (and those that we could’ve lived without) up until this point.

Things we needed:

1. Boppy Infant Lounger.  If you’ve seen any pictures of Chloe from the first few months of her life, you know that we used this thing all. the. time.  It was portable and comfortable for her.  They don’t recommend that you put it on elevated surfaces, but when she was tiny we’d put it in the middle of the table while we ate.  Or on the couch with us while we watched TV.  She spent a lot of time napping in it, too.  I’d say she outgrew this by 2.5-3 months.

Image

Tiny Chloe on the boppy lounger.

2. Boppy Nursing Pillow.  Breastfeeding is hard and this pillow made it much easier.  When we were having hour long nursing sessions and nursing every hour or hour and a half, it was a life saver.  My hands were free to read, play on my phone, whatever.  She has since outgrown it (I posted on this earlier when I thought she was just trying to make things difficult.  She’s just gotten to big for it.).  I recommend having at least two pillow covers though.  Ours have seen a lot of spit up and vomit.  We used this until she was four months old.  Now we use it to help her learn to sit up.  She loves to sit up in the floor and we place this around her so when she falls (and she always does).

3.  Aden and Anias swaddling blankets. We swaddled her in two of these until we figured out that she hated being swaddled. They are soft and breathable (and super cute).  Now we use them for spit clothes, blankets, sun shields and toys.  Chloe is really into texture right now and loves to feel them.  My mom thought they were too expensive, but now she’s a believer, too.  We have 8 of them and honestly, I want more.  

Image

First day home, all swaddled up (and probably hating it).

4.  Sleep sacks.  The link is for the Aden and Anias one that we are using currently.  I have two.  They are the perfect weight for summer.  When it was colder, I used some long sleeve fleece one’s that were gifts.  They kept her warm and comfy without the risk of a blanket getting on her face.  I use blankets at naptime now, but she moves around so much at night that I’d be afraid she’d get it on her face.  I imagine we’ll use these for a few more months.

Image

Worst iPhone picture ever, but you get the idea.

5.  Stroller and car seat combination.  I wanted one of those expensive jogging strollers, but am glad that we didn’t lay out the cash for it now.  Our Graco stoller has worked perfectly for us so far.  It’s so easy to just plop the car seat in the stroller and go.  She’s probably ready to ride in it like a big girl, but hasn’t liked it every time I’ve tried.  I’m getting a used jogging stroller from family that is probably much nicer than one we could’ve bought, so I’m fine with what we’ve got.  In other words, unless you are a very serious runner, you can do without a B.O.B.

6. Activity Mat.  We got a Baby Einstien one as a gift and it’s been great.  She has loved laying there and batting at toys, etc,.  Now that she can really grab things, I think she’s over it, but it’s been nice to be able to lay her down and do a few things and know that she’s entertained (at least for a few minutes).

7.  Baby Monitor.  We have the old school audio-only one and I don’t see any reason to splurge on the video monitor.  I know that I would be obsessed with watching her and wouldn’t be able to enjoy time with my husband when she’s asleep.  Hearing her scoot around and talk in there is plenty.  That said, I am glad we have one.  I can go outside, downstairs, whatever, and always hear what she’s doing.  We actually don’t use it after we’ve gone to bed either, since her room is just down the hall.

8.  Bumbo seat.  Chloe loves the Bumbo.  It’s helping her learn to sit up and it’s so easy to plop her down in it and let her play.  We recently got the tray that attaches to it and it’s cut down on the times I have to get up and pick up the toys that she has dropped.  We actually thought about just using this instead of a high chair, but have decided that we’d rather have something more formal for her to sit in at meal times.

9.  Sophie.  My baby loves this thing.  Her eyes light up when it’s around.  It’s squeaky and gets kind of annoying, but it keeps her occupied most of the time.  I don’t feel like she needs a lot of toys right now, but this one is a keeper.

10.  Sound Machine. I can’t find ours online, but I think when she hears it, she knows its bedtime.  She likes the ocean sound best and I leave it on until we go to bed.  It has a timer, so it’s great.  It has also been a lifesaver in getting her to sleep all night.  If I hear her talking in there, I can creep in and turn it on for half an hour and she’s back asleep.

Things I have but could live without:

1.  Electric Breast Pump.  First of all, Chloe won’t take a bottle.  I could live without a breast pump altogether.  However, I do have a pretty nice freezer stash if something were to happen and we couldn’t nurse anymore.  Also, we plan to use it on her cereal/in sippy cups, etc,. whenever we’re done nursing.  I pump about 10 oz. a day and throw it in the freezer.  I’m pretty sure I could’ve just used a manual and been just fine.  If I were working, this would be another story.  It is convenient, just not necessary for our situation. (Luckily I got a crazy good deal on mine ($80 for a $299 one!) because we found a woman who had used it for two days and decided not to breastfeed.

2.  Swing.  Chloe has never been a big fan of the swing.  I know a lot of parents swear by them, but she hasn’t like it.  I try to put her in it every couple of days to see if she’s changed her mind, but no.  We always end up like this:

Image

The one we got has a bouncy/vibrating chair that detaches, though and it has been fantastic.  Until she started sleeping in her crib, she often got a nap in it.  Even though it didn’t work with Chloe, we’re going to keep it and hope that #2 (if that ever happens) likes it.

3.  Wipe Warmer.  I got three of these as gifts and figured that they would come in handy.  Um.  Chloe likes her butt wiped with cold wipes for some reason.  I’ve gotten it out and tried it and she isn’t happy. People swear by these too, though, so maybe it’ll work with the next one?

4. Bottles.  Hunter and I were really excited to use our Dr. Brown’s glass bottles, but the whole bottle thing is a no go as of yet.

Okay, so those are the things that come to mind now, but I’m sure I’ll have more later.  

What things have helped you the most?  What could you live without?

3 Responses to “Baby Products Galore!”

  1. Brianne Johnson Wright May 31, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    I agree with most everything on your list of stuff that you needed. We use most of the same items, not surprising since Chloe and Lily are only 3 days apart! I think the Boppy infant lounger and pillow are a must. The swaddle blankets are pricey but they are worth every penny. I was lucky enough to order mine 40% off online but I would pay full price. Lily didn’t like being swaddled but they are so versatile. They make excellent nursing covers! The company makes crib sheets too. They are ridiculously expensive as well but the material is just so heavenly, I want some for my bed! I also agree that even though Sophie can get a little annoying she is a keeper. It is interesting though, like you said, how different these kind of lists can be. So much of it depends on the baby’s preference and the needs of the family. I just think in general that there are way too many products out there. I like the idea of keeping it as simple as you can!

    • Leslie May 31, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

      They make crib sheets?? I’m with you–I need one for my bed. Maybe we can buy like 4 and sew them together? That’s totally worth the money, right? 🙂

      And it’s funny that you mention simplicity because before I wrote this, I thought we had it pretty simple. After reading back over it I realize that actually use quite a bit of stuff. Oh well. Whatever works!

      • Brianne Johnson Wright May 31, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

        You can get the crib sheets locally at Finer Things for Her. They are over $30. For one sheet. Yikes. The only reason I bought one is that I had a gift card. I could never have justified spending that much on one sheet if it was out of my own pocket! The swaddles though, definitely worth it!

        It is hard, almost impossible, to keep it simple with so many products for babies. I think your list is still pretty simple though and more practical, especially compared to some that I have seen.

Leave a Reply

