Random Musings

25 May

Do babies get a second wind?  I’m keeping Chloe up longer than usual today to try to get her to nap better and so far, so good.  She was up for the day at 6:30 and I just put her down for her first nap (around 9:15).  She got fussy around the time I would normally put her down, but after a few minutes was fine again.  Maybe this will work out for us.  

Babies are so confusing and they don’t come with instructions.  I’m so thankful that I get to stay home with her and figure things out on our own time.  Do babies in daycare have to be on a set schedule??  I never even thought about it.  

We’re hunkering down here at the Mullins house today so that I can pay close attention to what’s going to work for her.  Hunter wanted to go on a walk this morning and I wouldn’t let him put her in the stroller or Ergo because I knew she’d conk out immediately.  So he carried her.  It was interesting.  Thank goodness for strollers and carriers, because we didn’t make it too far. 

Chloe’s newest development is that she has learned how to make things squeak or to make lots of noise by banging them.  Her Sophie giraffe has taken a beating this morning between her gnawing on it to make it squeak and hitting it as hard as she can on her tray.  Throwing them also seems to tickle her.  

We’ve also been working on sitting up.  She wants to do it all of the time, so I figure it’s time to learn how.  She’s always trying to pull her head up and loves it when we prop her up.  I guess it’s just getting a different view of things? She can hold it for about 15 seconds and then she topples over. She hasn’t figured out how to use her hands to balance yet, but soon I’m sure.  

Anyway, I don’t have any new pictures today but I’ll try to take a lot on this (long) weekend!  

5 Responses to “Random Musings”

  1. Brianne Johnson Wright May 25, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    Lily is not on any kind of schedule at daycare, as far as napping.When she started she was way too young to be on a schedule. They would put her down when she appeared to be sleepy and that is what they still do. She doesn’t actually nap much there and when she does, the naps are short. When I am home with her on the weekends we don’t really have a schedule yet. I just have to wing it with her which can be hard sometimes. I have noticed though that she is closer to somewhat of a recognizable schedule. I get a report of her napping times and length at the end of each day. I had been concerned about how short her naps were becoming but she seems content and rested, sometimes even after only napping for 20mins. I think at this age it is still hard to figure out a baby’s schedule, especially if you are trying to figure it out from naturally and not necessarily put them on a schedule. Have you read anything about the 4 month wakeful period? Does it apply to napping as well as nighttime sleeping? Having an overtired baby is frustrating. Sometimes I fail to recognize some of Lily’s tired cues before it is too late and she is so mad and upset and then I feel awful. It takes so long it seems to calm her down and get her to sleep. One thing that has worked for me and Lily is I have been trying to put her down for naps and bedtime before she even knows she is tired, if that makes sense. I sit in her room with her and either read or talk to her, very quietly and try to have minimal stimulation. She gets very relaxed and eventually when I notice her eyes getting heavy I usually make my way out of the room and within a few minutes she is asleep. Lily, unlike Chloe I know, takes a pacifier. She doesn’t use it often but I have found that it does relax her a lot during those times that she is way overtired and/or fighting sleep.

    Anyway, I agree that babies are confusing and even if there were instructions, every baby is so different that the instructions would be useless! You are doing a great job with Chloe and you will figure it out!

    On a different note, Lily squeezes the heck out of Sophie and I find it very annoying but she loves it! I just hate that noise!

    • Leslie May 25, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

      I’m glad I’m not alone on the napping front. Sometimes I get really nervous that I’m doing something completely wrong. Maybe the kids I read about that are on napping schedules are older? And I’m not sure about the 4 month wakefulness thing in regards to naps. Chloe has been sleeping fine at night (I’m sooooo sorry that Lily hasn’t been), so who knows. And I’m with you–Chloe seems rested after her little cat naps, too. I guess it would just be more convenient if she napped longer during the day and less often. I could get a few things done.

      Speaking of napping though, I’ve been trying today to keep her up longer and it hasn’t really done anything. But I just went and got black out curtains and put them up in her room and she’s been asleep for almost 45 minutes? Maybe she was just exhausted for all the non-naps or maybe they’re working? I also know I’m going to pay for her napping like this so late in the day, haha.

  2. Brianne Johnson Wright May 26, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    It could have been a little of both, the non-naps and the curtains! Lily had a much later and longer nap than usual yesterday but she was only off her bedtime by 30 mins or so and then slept just fine. I was so worried that it would make for a longer night but it didn’t. I hope it didn’t mess with Chloe too much!

    I read that around 6 months most babies fall into a napping schedule of twice a day. Of course every baby is different but perhaps we can look forward to less but longer naps? Sometimes the only way I can get anything done, even eat or shower, is when Lily is napping.

    • Leslie May 26, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

      Chloe slept fine last night, thank goodness. Napping has been the same today. She had 2 almost 30 min naps, a 20 minutes nap and a couple of really short cat naps. I just feel like I’m doing something wrong here! Ugh.

      And exactly, no one else seems to understand that the only way I can do things is when she’s napping. She pretty much requires all of my attention (and rightly so) when she’s awake.

  3. Sleeping Mom @ Sleeping Should Be Easy May 27, 2012 at 12:27 am #

    So cute! We still have our little Sophie giraffe and she has withstood the test of time. Til now he still cracks up by making her squeak. Hope Chloe gets into a groove with her naps!

Leave a Reply

