Rainy Days

9 May

On rainy days, there is nothing better than curling up on the couch with a good book.  I used to love to read and nap on days like today.  She may look like her Daddy, but today, at least, Chloe is taking after her Mom.  

She slept all night, but then wanted to sleep more so we cuddled up in the bed for an extra hour and a half.  And since then she has (mostly) been content to snuggle and hang out.  

Before having Chloe, I just assumed that my kids would love the same things that I do.  My Mom loves books and reading; so do I.  My Dad loves changing into his PJs right after work; so do I (Haha, Dad, sorry!  I took more than just that from you, I promise!).  

Hunter and I were having a talk about Chloe’s future the other day (oh, the possibilities!) and I realized that I am going to have to instill a love of reading into her and accept it if she is like her Dad and can barely stand to read a magazine.  I credit my love of a good book to my Mom because she read to us everyday.  I grew up on Roald Dahl, Louisa May Alcott and Norton Juster, to name a few.  The Phantom Tollboth and Little Women are still two of my very favorite books and I can’t wait to read them to Chloe.

I’m starting off small with her, but we are definitely reading at least one book a day.  I hope this helps with her language acquisition, as well as sets her up to share my passion.

(I’m pretty sure we need this, this and this.)

Hunter is already priming her to love music, as well.  He puts in on the Bach station on Pandora every night and has made her listen to The Planets many times.

Thinking about all of this has made me realize what one of the hardest parts of being a parent is going to be:  letting her make her own choices, good or bad.  I always got so irritated when I wasn’t allowed to make my own mistakes and learn from them.  Now I understand why parents never want to let their kids do things that way.  I don’t want to see her get hurt, disappointed, etc,. like I have been at times.  I want to protect her forever.  But, I know that eventually (obviously, I’m getting ahead of myself here…she’s only 4 months old) I’ll have to let go and let her figure it out.

Until then, I’ll enjoy this joyful little girl who doesn’t know that her Mama isn’t always right.

Image

Image

 

Leave a Reply

