Naptime

8 May

You can read a billion books and a billion blogs, but your baby will still do things that don’t fit the mold with any of them.  Babies do what they want and it can, on occasion, drive their parents absolutely insane.

Chloe is sleeping through the night.  It’s fantastic.  I assumed that when she got the hang of night time sleep, she’d stop wanting to nap every 1.5 hours.  I’ve tried my best today to keep her awake for at least 2 hours between naps, but it’s useless.  She’s tired and she lets me know. 

I even took her out, thinking that interaction with other people would make her stay awake, but at exactly 1.5 hours, she got cranky.  Ten seconds after I loaded her into the car, I got this:

Image

My baby loves to nap. It doesn’t help that she still won’t nap in her crib on a regular basis.  

Is this normal? I feel like at this point she should be taking 2-3 naps during the day and be able to stay up longer.  But then again, I’m usually wrong.  

This whole parenting gig is hard.  Sometimes, I feel like I know everything and that I’m doing things right, but most a lot of the time I feel like I’m completely clueless and doing things wrong.

As far as getting her to sleep in her crib, I have a game plan.  I’m going to order the black out curtains and give that a go.  If that doesn’t work, I’m going to try putting her in her nightgown when I put her down.  She absolutely loves getting into it, so maybe that will work?  We’ll see.

Pictures from the day:

Image

Gnawing on her toy.

Image

Feet!

 

One Response to “Naptime”

  1. Diane May 8, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    We use blackout curtains and love them. Sure do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

