Miss Independent

26 Apr

Much better day here.  Perhaps the fact that Chloe slept from 7:00-4:15 and then from 4:30-7:15 helped a bit.  I guess yesterday wore her out, too.  The post I had planned for today is delayed a bit, but hopefully someone (ahem…Mom and Dad) will get me some pictures sometime soon.

Today, we had a truly miraculous event occur.  Chloe was getting really fussy around nap time, so I put her on my shoulder and climbed into the glider…our usual nap time ritual.  Only this time, it didn’t work.  She cried harder.  After a few minutes, I decided to lay her down in her crib and go get a drink of water since it seemed like we’d be there for awhile.  I came back into her room to find her silent, sucking her thumb and almost asleep.  I stopped in my tracks, terrified that a squeak in the floor would wake her.  I watched with shock and awe as her eyes slowly shut and her thumb fell out of her mouth.

She had fallen asleep during the day.  In her crib.  By herself.

For almost 4 months, I’ve had to rock her to sleep and then hold her for the duration of her naps.  That’s a lot of time when you consider that she takes a nap at least every two hours.

She stayed asleep for half an hour and what did I do?  Did I clean the house or prep for dinner?  Did I get a little workout in or load the dishwasher?  No.  I pretty much stared at her, too scared to move.  If this keeps happening, hopefully I’ll feel more sure that she’ll stay asleep and be able to do something productive.  But for that half hour, I thought about how bittersweet this moment was.

Maybe I’m making too much of it (okay, I know I am), but it felt like her telling me that she was ready.  She didn’t need me to help her get to sleep or cuddle with her to keep her there.  What’s next?  Prom?  College?  Ugh.  Babies grow up too fast.

The past few months of always being with her during nap time has been trying, but it’s also been really sweet.  While I’m very glad she’s learning to do some things on her own, I’m a little sad about it too.

Let’s not get ahead of ourselves though…it was one nap.  She’s known to do something once and then never do it again.

After that, we went to the library to see Nana and visit all the lovely people there.  She got to meet Brianne, who has a little girl that is only 3 days younger than her (born on my birthday!).  The library was a bit warm though and she got tired of it pretty fast.

Today, I thought I’d share a picture of itty bitty Chloe because I think she’s growing way too much already and I want her to be small again!

Image

Image

One Response to “Miss Independent”

  1. Brianne Johnson Wright April 26, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    Thank you for stopping by today! I am glad I got to meet Chloe and it was good seeing you. Isn’t it wild how quickly the girls have grown in just a little under 4 months. Chloe looks so tiny in these pictures but she is still just as adorable. You are right when you say they grow up so fast. We must remember to stop and enjoy the little moments!

Leave a Reply

