Parenting Advice

20 Apr

Every new parent gets more than their fair share of parenting advice.  Sure, some of it is wanted but let’s be honest…most of it isn’t.  I tend to get a bit defensive about things and should probably just let people tell me what they want and then forget it.  But sometimes it feels disrespectful.  Yes, I’m only 27 and this is my first child, but we are her parents and we get to choose how we raise her.  I realize that some of our parenting methods aren’t necessarily traditional, but it’s what feels right to us!

Here are a few of the things that tend to pop up in conversation:

1.  The napping situation.  I get it.  I let my little, tiny, perfect baby sleep on me for the first month of her life and now it’s usually the only place she’ll sleep during the day.  Yes, this means my house is a mess and I don’t have a “break.”  I didn’t mess her up or create some kind of nap monster…she just likes her Momma.  Maybe it will be a problem later, but I’ll deal with it then.  I don’t particularly mind her napping on me most days.  She’s only going to be little for so long and I’m going to enjoy it.

2.  The diapers.  We covered that one yesterday.  

3.  Baby led parenting. I can’t tell you the number of people that have told me to get that baby on a schedule!  Apparently, my life will be so much easier, which I’m certain is true.  However, I don’t want to force my baby into a schedule that doesn’t fit her own internal clock.  So I’m simply paying attention to what she does naturally and will, when she’s a bit bigger, find a schedule that works for both of us.  And I’ll be flexible about it.

4.  The bottle dilemma.  Yeah, my baby won’t take a bottle.  The only problem with this is that I can’t really be away from her for a long time.  Again, who cares!  I’m lucky enough to get to stay home with her so it doesn’t create a problem. Maybe I waited too long to give her one, but maybe she just knows what she likes?  I think people get upset because they want to keep her and I get that.  They’ll just have to wait.  I’m fortunate that we haven’t had to supplement or anything so it hasn’t been an issue as far as her nutrition and growth goes, and therefore, it isn’t a problem.

5.  Baby led weaning.  I think that most of the time, people get confused because they don’t really understand what it is.  But telling me that my baby must have purees to learn to eat solids is really annoying.  I plan on doing a whole post about baby led weaning before we get to the six month mark and actually start doing it.  I’m actually really excited!

6. Raising my child as a vegetarian.  This is probably the most controversial and I’d actually like to hear other peoples opinions.  My defense about this is that we all grew up eating what our parents eat.  We don’t eat meat, and it seems only natural that we wouldn’t encourage our daughter to do something we don’t believe is good for us.  I’m crossing my fingers that when she is able to stay with other people, they will respect this and not try to give her things she wouldn’t have at home.  I should probably do a post on our thoughts behind our own vegetarianism just so people understand our reasoning, too. 

Let me say, however, that I do think that most of this unwanted advice comes from a genuine place of love and caring.  I’m sure that when Chloe is older, I’ll be doing the same thing.

/endrant

Today, I’m totally using this space to vent so feel free to completely ignore this entire post! 

A picture as usual:

Image

Today she fell asleep with her fingers in a her mouth and one finger up her nose. Hilarious.

 

3 Responses to “Parenting Advice”

  1. Brianne Johnson Wright April 21, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

    I planned on doing a post myself about the vegetarian thing since I get asked about it in regards to Lily a lot. My stance and situation will probably be a lot different, especially since my husband does eat meat. Anyway, I think overall people mean well and maybe don’t realize how their advice comes across. It can be very annoying though, but like you, I tend to just take what I need to from it and forget about it. Hopefully even though people may not understand your decisions, they will at least come to respect the choices you make for YOUR child.

  2. Brianne Johnson Wright April 21, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    Also, this reminded me of the time my brother (who is vegan) got really mad because someone gave his daughter (also vegan) an ice cream sandwich for breakfast. This was wrong on so many levels. First, they knew she was vegan but they didn’t really agree with it. Second, an ice cream sandwich for breakfast! That isn’t very healthy!

    • Leslie April 21, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

      Oh my goodness…that is insanely insensitive. And an ice cream sandwich for breakfast?? Wow. Let’s hope that doesn’t happen to us.

Leave a Reply

