A Day in the Life

17 Apr

I though it might be interesting to look back later and see how Chloe’s days have changed over time.  Babies don’t stick to one routine for very long, so I can only imagine how different it will be tommorrow in a couple of months.  But for the past few weeks, we’ve gotten into a somewhat normal schedule.  I’m a believer in the so called “baby-led” methods; in other words, there isn’t a specific time that I put her down for a nap or feed her.  She “tells” me when it’s time and I think I’m starting to get the hang of reading her signals (finally).  

So without further ado…here is a day in the life of Chloe at 14 weeks:

4:00 AM – Usually she wakes up now and starts grunting around in her crib.  When I hear her start sucking on her hands I go in, change her diaper, and feed her.  I’m in and out in about 25 minutes these days.  

5:45 AM – Hunter is up and getting ready for work and it usually wakes her up a bit.  I go grab her if she’s awake, rock her for .25 seconds until she falls back asleep and then she gets in the bed with me.  She doesn’t wake as easy when she can smell me near by, so Hunter can make all the racket he wants.

6:30 – 7:15 AM – Chloe is awake.  I feed her in the bed and cross my fingers that she’ll fall right back asleep.  This pretty much never happens, but every once in a while it will.

7:15 – 8:00 AM – We hang out and cuddle in the bed.  Realistically, Chloe usually takes this time to poop.  It takes her awhile (it’s hard being a baby!) so I call my Mom while she’s getting ready for work.

8:00 AM – I get her dressed and ready for the day and then put her on her playmat.  This is the only time I’m going to get to eat my breakfast, so I scarf it down and go ahead and make my lunch.  She plays happily until she gets hungry again.

8:20 AM – She never gets a full feeding in when she first wakes up so she’s already hungry.  We eat and then head to the bathroom where she (usually) falls right asleep in her bouncy seat on the counter.  I take a shower and try to quickly empty the dishwasher and throw something in the wash.

9:10 AM – Chloe is up and ready to play.  Sometimes she’s happy playing on her own, but for the most part, she wants a playmate.  I make faces and sing to her while she looks at me like I’m a crazy person. This is one of my favorite times of day though, because she is usually the happiest.  Smiles abound and she “talks” to me a lot.

10:45 AM – Time to eat again!  She’s starting to spread her feedings out a lot more, but they still seem to come pretty often.

11:00 AM – We head downstairs so she can nap on my shoulder and I can squeeze in the new Gossip Girl.  Or whatever show is on the DVR.  And eat my lunch.  Multitasking is pretty important over here.

12:00 PM – More playtime!  I usually put her in the bumbo and read to her around this time of day.  She likes books with a lot of color.

1:30 PM – She starts looking hungry.  Up to the nursery again to eat.

1:45 PM – Back into the bouncy seat for a nap.  I have to sit in the bathroom with her so I usually take this time to blog.

2:30 PM – Up and time to wait on Daddy to come home.  Sometimes we’ll go walk around the yard and look at the grass/flowers/trees.  Sometimes we’ll go play with her owl in the bed.  Whatever keeps her from crying makes her happy.

3:00 – 4:00 PM – Dad is home.  I hand her off and start dinner.  She needs a nap at some point during this time so Hunter usually ends up finishing dinner, but it works out.  We eat around 4:30…way to early.  Somebody remind me to change this.  She hangs out in her lamb chair and makes a lot of noise while we eat.  By the time we’re done eating, she’s usually crying because she’s hungry.

4:45 – 6:30 PM – I feed her and we strap her into the stroller for a walk down the street to see Nana and Grandpa.  We walk around the yard.  We dance and sing.  We bring out the last resort toys to keep the hysterics down.  This seems to be Chloe’s witching hour–you really never know what you’re going to get.  You could have a happy baby that’s playing and talking or a red faced, out of breath baby and a Mommy who is pulling her hair out.

6:30 – 7:00 PM – I change her diaper, turn on the sound/projection machine, put her in her PJ’s (easily her favorite part of the day!) and feed her.  I let her nurse herself to sleep (I know, I know, but I really don’t see any harm in it.  It works so I’m going to keep doing it.) and it usually takes about 45 minutes.  She’s also tanking up for the night so I let her take her time.  I do crossword puzzles on my phone (to prevent alzheimer’s obviously).  I rock her for about 5 minutes to make sure she’s really asleep and put her down.  Sometimes she wakes right up, but I just have to rock her for a few more minutes and she’s limp.  Back into the crib.

8:00 PM – I breathe a huge sigh of relief because she’s asleep!  Hunter and I catch up on the DVR or read or whatever.  If he’s not here, I go crawl in the bed with a book and am asleep before 9.  

As you can see, there isn’t much down time around here.  If you read all of that, I commend you.  I hope i can look back at this in three months and see how much different things are.  Hopefully, I’ll be better at managing my “free” time and be a good speed cleaner.  

And last but not least, a few pictures from today:

Image

Back from running an errand...sucking on our blankie.

Image

Hanging out in the big girl chair.

Leave a Reply

