On Being a Stay at Home Mom

13 Apr

When people hear that I’m a SAHM, they usually look at me funny and say something like, “Well, that’s nice.”  What I hear is one of two things: “You’re so lucky!” and “You’re so lazy!”.  You can usually tell which one people mean by the tone of their voice and how much the squint their eyes.  The truth is that I am both of those things at times.  

am lucky to be able to stay at home, but we make a lot of sacrifices for me to do so.  There won’t be any vacations, new Tom’s (although I really need a new pair), fancy dinners out or even fancy dinners in. Those are things that I am willing to sacrifice because I (we) feel like this is important.  It’s important for me to be home with Chloe, spend all the time I can with her and try my best to raise a kind human being.  I feel like it’s where I’m supposed to be.  Yeah, I have a Master’s degree, but in the end, she is what matters.  I’m certain that when she’s old enough to go to school (tear), I’ll be able to use my education to find a job that allows us to add some of the luxuries back into our lives.

The whole lazy thing…well, sometimes I am.  Sometimes I sit and stare at my baby while she sleeps.  All Most of the time, she’s sleeping on me anyway so I can’t get anything done.  I’d love to find the motivation to get up before she’s awake or stay up after she’s asleep and clean the house, but I simply don’t have the energy.  Feeding, caring for and constantly entertaining a three month old really takes it out of you.  I know when people come over (Mom) they’re sort of confused as to why my house is in such shambles.  I guess I haven’t figured the homemaker part of being a SAHM yet.  Maybe it will come with time?  Until then, I’m going to push the dirty clothes out of the way and give my baby kisses.

This is the hardest, most rewarding, job I’ve ever had.  I’ve learned that I am not superwoman.  I can’t do it all.  I have a new appreciation for what my own mother did for my brother and I.  Last night, after a particularly trying day, I literally fell into bed after I got her to sleep (around 8:15).  Before going to sleep, I thought about being frustrated and upset that the day had been hard, but instead I focused on the good moments that we had and the fact that I got to wake up to her pudgy face this morning. 

3 Responses to “On Being a Stay at Home Mom”

  1. Brianne April 18, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

    I think you are very lucky and in some ways I am jealous. I would love to be a SAHM right now. I hate having to put Lily in daycare. I feel guilty and hate that I am away from her so much. I think it is awesome that you are able to do it for Chloe.

    • Leslie April 18, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

      You’re doing what works for your family and you shouldn’t feel guilty. Lily is an awesome kid and you’re an awesome Mom!

  2. Susan Banet April 18, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    Having been a SAHM for nearly a quarter of a century, I am so blessed to have experienced my 3 children’s good, bad, and ugly first-handedly. Yes, it is definitely hard work, sometimes monotonous, but also so emotionally-enriching. I encourage you to exercise regularly with others SAHMs, where there is a safe and nurturing Kids’ Club for Chloe. The endorphins will pay healthy dividends, both physically and psychologically.The camaraderie with the other moms will benefit you, while exchanging relevant info, book discussions, and laughter!

Leave a Reply

